Premier’s VCE Awards recipients

Home > News and Events > 2017 > Premier’s VCE Awards recipients

27 April 2017

The 2017 Premier’s VCE Awards were announced earlier today. Luke Macaronas from St Kevin’s College, Toorak, was acknowledged as a VCE High Image of Luke Macaronas, Dhruvi Desai and Jade Nye with the Premier, who were all acknowledged as VCE High Achievers.Achiever, an award presented to students who have achieved study scores of 46 or higher in at least five VCE studies. In 2016 Luke was also the winner of the Plain English Speaking Award and will be representing Australia in the International Public Speaking Awards in London next month.


In addition to that, 32 students from Catholic schools received Study Awards at today’s presentation. Included in the list are Dhruvi Desai who was dual dux of Aquinas College, Ringwood, and St Mary’s College for the Deaf, Wantirna, and Jade Nye who featured on Padua College, Mornington’s, 2016 CD Unfolding Stories. Congratulations to all of our students on your amazing achievements.

  • Hamish Adams, Xavier College, Kew – Classical Studies and English
  • Sachika Adcock, Our Lady of Mercy College, Heidelberg – Japanese second language
  • Thomas Bailey, St Kevin’s College,  Toorak – English
  • Thomas Cantwell, Whitefriars College Inc., Donvale – Religion and Society
  • Barbra Charge, Star of the Sea College, Brighton – Food and Technology
  • Elise Ciavarella, Our Lady of Sion College, Box Hill – Hospitality (Kitchen Operations VCE VET)
  • Dhruvi Desai, Aquinas College, Ringwood – Business Management
  • Amanda Disilvestro, Avila College, Mount Waverley – English (EAL)
  • Zoe Evans, Avila College, Mount Waverley – Agricultural and Horticultural Studies
  • Vanessa Goh, Sacred Heart Girls’ College, Oakleigh – Texts and Traditions
  • Aaron Gravias, Marcellin College, Bulleen – Further Mathematics
  • Rafi Haddad, Antonine College, Pascoe Vale South – Arabic
  • Laura Heard, Clonard College, Herne Hill – Further Mathematics
  • Michael Hester, St Kevin’s College, Toorak – English
  • Callum Holmes, Parade College, Bundoora – Chemistry
  • Meg Jones, Star of the Sea College, Brighton – Legal Studies
  • William Klarenbeek, Padua College, Mornington – Computing: Informatics
  • Jerome Lin, Loyola College, Watsonia – Sociology
  • Michael Mazzeo, Emmanuel College, Altona North – Business Management
  • Andrew Montalto, MacKillop Catholic Regional College, Werribee – Further Mathematics
  • Julie Montesano, Penola Catholic College, Broadmeadows – Outdoor and Environmental Studies
  • Joseph Moorhead, Xavier College, Kew – Australian History
  • Christine Nguyen, Loreto Mandeville Hall, Toorak – Australian Politics and Literature
  • Jade Nye, Padua College, Mornington – Music (VCE VET)
  • Montana O’Brien, Kilbreda College, Mentone – Music (VCE VET)
  • Thomas Ponissi, De La Salle College, Malvern – History: Revolutions and Media
  • Matthew Slater, St Bede’s College, Mentone – Biology
  • Tenae Smith, Kilbreda College, Mentone – Dance
  • Emily Spagnol, Siena College, Camberwell – Psychology
  • Cheyenne Thoeun, Sacred Heart Girls’ College, Oakleigh – Health and Human Development
  • Laura Woodbridge, Loreto Mandeville Hall, Toorak – Australian Politics
  • Oskar Zemdegs, St Kevin’s College, Toorak – English