Who we are

Home > About Us > Who we are
Our board

The board of Melbourne Archdiocese Catholic Schools (MACS) was established in 2020 by Archbishop of Melbourne Peter A Comensoli.

The MACS board is responsible for ensuring the organisation meets all fiduciary and strategic requirements, and that operations are aligned with our mission and purpose in fulfilment of ecclesial, legal and statutory obligations. The board holds the Executive Director and Executive Leadership Team accountable for the management and delivery of our objectives and implementation of policies.

Archbishop Peter A Comensoli appoints the members of the board. The members are:

Gerard Dalbosco, Chair
Róisín Annesley QC
Professor Greg Craven AO GCSG
Frank FitzGerald
Fr Michael Gallacher
Carolyn Ireland
Geraldine Leslie
John McLindon
Lucinda Nolan APM
Dr Margaret O’Donnell
Tim O’Leary
Executive Director

Jim Miles was announced Executive Director of MACS in October 2020. He started working in Catholic education for the Archdiocese of Melbourne in 2015, and served as the Executive Director of Catholic Education Melbourne from December 2018. Jim has had an extensive career in the Victorian public service, working in both the Department of Treasury and the Department of Education and Training, where he served as Deputy Secretary of the Infrastructure and Finance Services Group.

The Executive Director is responsible for the strategic management of MACS. He is supported by an Executive Leadership Team that provides the strategic and operational leadership to ensure staff and schools are managed and supported to achieve our vision for Catholic education in the Archdiocese of Melbourne.

Organisational structure

Senior Staff Org Structure