ResourceSmart School finalists

Home > News and Events > 2017 > ResourceSmart School finalists  

25 September 2017

Melbourne’s Catholic schools are well represented in the finalists for the 2017 ResourceSmart Awards, Victoria’s biggest sustainability awards for schools. This year celebrates the tenth anniversary of the awards with the theme ‘a decade of school wins for the environment’, inspiring school communities to focus on sustainability and climate action while providing learning opportunities for students.

Stella Maris School students
Sustainability Victoria manage these Awards as part of the ResourceSmart Schools program to help schools embed sustainability into everything they do, and acknowledge the steps schools are taking to minimise waste, save energy and water, and reduce greenhouse gas emissions.

The finalists were announced by Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change, Lily D’Ambrosio, ahead of the presentation ceremony on Monday 16 October.

St Louis de Montfort’s School, Aspendale* 

  • School of the Decade
  • Leadership School of the Year
  • Student Action Team (Primary)
  • Community Leadership School of the Year (Primary)

St Macartan’s School, Mornington 

  • School of the Decade

St Therese Catholic Primary School, Torquay 

  • Biodiversity School of the Year (Primary)

MacKillop Catholic Regional College, Werribee 

  • Waste School of the Year (Secondary)
  • Water School of the Year (Secondary)
  • Energy School of the Year (Secondary)
  • Student Action Team (Secondary)

Stella Maris School, Beaumaris 

  • Water School of the Year (Primary)

St Joseph’s College, Geelong 

  • Teacher of the Year (Secondary) – Kelly Jenkins

St Monica’s College, Epping 

  • Teacher of the Year (Secondary) – Rachel Zammit

St Jude’s School, Langwarrin 

  • Community Leadership School of the Year (Primary)

Catholic Regional College, St Albans 

  • Community Leadership School of the Year (Secondary)

*St Louis de Montfort’s is also a finalist in the 2017 Premier’s Sustainability Awards for their Steps to Sustainability Conference that educates about best sustainable and environmental practices, empowering community to embed sustainable education.