Melbourne Archdiocese Catholic Schools Ltd Board Announced

Home > News and Events > Media Releases > 2020 > Melbourne Archdiocese Catholic Schools Ltd Board Announced

23 December 2020

The Catholic Archbishop of Melbourne, Most Rev. Peter A Comensoli has announced the appointment of the Melbourne Archdiocese Catholic Schools Ltd (MACS) Board.

Archbishop Comensoli is pleased to announce the following appointments to the board:

  • Róisín Annesley QC
  • Professor Greg Craven AO GCSG
  • Frank FitzGerald
  • Fr Michael Gallacher
  • Geraldine Leslie
  • Lucinda Nolan APM
  • Dr Margaret O’Donnell
  • Tim O’Leary.

‘The new members join our inaugural Chair, Gerard Dalbosco, in leading this exciting new era for Catholic education in the Archdiocese of Melbourne,’ Archbishop Comensoli said.

‘The establishment of MACS has been a necessary and constructive change to Catholic education in the Archdiocese, and the appointment of these new board members serves to not only reflect community expectations about the operations of schools, but keeps our Christ-centred mission at the heart of all we do in Catholic education.

‘MACS is blessed to have these experienced and respected industry, educational and Catholic-community leaders joining the board.’

Chair of the Board, Gerard Dalbosco, said that the parents and families of the more than 110,000 students attending Catholic schools governed by MACS can feel confident about the board chosen to lead the sector in this new era.

‘MACS will be responsible for the governance and operation of 290 Catholic schools in the Archdiocese of Melbourne from 1 January 2021,’ Mr Dalbosco said.

‘It will make us the sixth-largest school governing authority in the country after the state school systems in NSW, Victoria, Queensland, Western Australia and South Australia.

‘This is an immense task, but our new board members will bring their significant skills and commitment to the task of leading this new era for our schools.’

MACS will officially begin its governance responsibilities on 1 January 2021.

For more information, please call Michael Pountney, Acting Assistant Director, Enterprise Services, on 0409 860 884 or

Further information about the transition of governance arrangements for Melbourne Catholic schools can be found at

About the MACS Board Members

Róisín Annesley QC
Róisín Annesley QC is the Senior Vice President of the Victorian Bar and a long-serving member and Chair of the Victorian Bar Ethics Committee. Alongside her background in Catholic education, Róisín brings significant legal and ethical knowledge and experience to MACS.

Professor Greg Craven AO GCSG
Professor Greg Craven AO GCSG is one of Australia’s foremost education leaders and legal scholars, with a long and distinguished history of contributions to higher education, law, policy and the Catholic Church.

Gerard Dalbosco
Formerly a senior partner at EY, Gerard Dalbosco has had a distinguished career, holding several significant leadership roles including Oceania Managing Partner and CEO, Asia Pacific Deputy Managing Partner and Melbourne Managing Partner. Gerard also has significant governance experience, with current roles at the Committee for Melbourne (Director, Deputy Chairman and Chair of Finance, Audit & Risk), Loreto Mandeville Hall Toorak (Chair of Board and former Chair of Finance) and Newman College (Member of Finance Committee).

Frank FitzGerald
Frank FitzGerald is an education leader and former principal with a strong commitment to Catholic education and school leadership. Frank brings extensive experience as an educator and insight from his previous role as the Executive Officer of Catholic Secondary Principals Australia.

Fr Michael Gallacher
Fr Michael Gallacher is the Parish Priest of St Roch’s Parish, Glen Iris, having been appointed there in January 2017. Ordained in 2012, Fr Michael completed postgraduate study in canon law, and serves as member of the Diocesan Tribunal. Fr Michael has also played an integral role on the steering committee leading to the establishment of MACS.

Geraldine Leslie
Geraldine Leslie is an award-winning human resources executive with significant experience in leading people and business operations, and was recently appointed Chief People Officer at Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO). Geraldine brings to the board experience gained from roles at a diverse range of organisations in energy, manufacturing, health and local government.

Lucinda Nolan APM
Lucinda Nolan APM has had a formidable career in public and emergency services, having served as the first female Chief Executive Officer of the Country Fire Authority. Currently the CEO of the Ovarian Cancer Research Fund, Lucinda brings to the board extensive corporate governance experience through directorships at BankVic, Hawthorn Football Club, Alkira and the Penington Institute.

Dr Margaret O’Donnell
Dr Margaret O’Donnell has had a long and distinguished career in Catholic education, having served as a principal for more than 20 years. Margaret brings a keen insight into the challenges our school leaders and teachers face in delivering a uniquely Catholic education.

Tim O’Leary
Tim O’Leary is the Executive Director Stewardship at the Catholic Archdiocese of Melbourne. Tim has held senior corporate affairs, human resources and sustainability roles at Telstra, National Australia Bank and Mobil Oil Australia, with significant experience in program delivery across these disciplines in a corporate setting. Tim also brings significant corporate governance experience as a Director of Mercy Health and Newman College.

Download PDF